2018 Monaco GP: Alonso To Start from 7th in the Principality of Monaco

Alonso to Start 7th in Monaco

Fernando Alonso will start from 7th place into the 2018 Monaco Grand Prix.

It was a turn of fortunes for the better, after being behind from the first session.

Fernando, who missed most of the first practice session on Thursday due to brake issues, finished practice three only in 15th position, saying his car’s handling felt “very strange”.

McLaren have made several changes to the car’s set-up ahead of qualifying, Alonso managed his best qualifying results in 7th place, getting into the third part of qualifying for the second time in a row.

Fernando Alonso, Post Qualifying:

“It’s been a very complicated weekend, we lost the first session because of the brakes and in the third one the car was handling very strange.”

“The rear felt disconnected from the front. We had problems on the rear in the slow corners and in the fast corners we had problems on the front and that’s usually a puzzle that’s hard to solve.”

“We made a lot of changes to the car and we went out in qualifying like tossing a coin to see how the car would handle – we saw quickly that it was a different car, that was handling better and giving me the confidence to attack. Seventh tastes very good now.”

“The question everybody is asking is the hypersofts, how long they will last and how much trouble they will cause.”

“They are not going to pass you, that’s for sure, but how long you stay out is always a risk, if someone stops and undercuts you then it’s going to be tough.”

“If you stop early and you are behind a car doing 65 laps on the hard tyre then you are stuck for 64 laps behind it.”

2018 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix Qualifying Results
1.australia Daniel RicciardoRed BullTAG1’10.810 
2.germany Sebastian VettelFerrariFerrari1’11.0390.229
3.united_kingdom Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes1’11.2320.422
4.finland Kimi RaikkonenFerrariFerrari1’11.2660.456
5.finland Valtteri BottasMercedesMercedes1’11.4410.631
6.france Esteban Ocon Force IndiaMercedes1’12.0611.251
7.spain Fernando AlonsoMcLarenRenault1’12.1101.300
8.spain Carlos Sainz RenaultRenault1’12.1301.320
9.mexico Sergio PerezForce IndiaMercedes1’12.1541.344
10.france Pierre GaslyToro RossoHonda1’12.2211.411