6 Hours of Spa: Alonso Wins on His WEC Debut, Toyota Scores a 1-2

Toyota secured a one-two finish in the opening round of the FIA World Endurance Championship superseason at Spa, with Fernando Alonso’s car taking a narrow win.

The #8 Toyota Hybrid Fernando shared with Sebastien Buemi and Kazuki Nakajima looked to be on course for an untroubled victory for the majority of the race, helped by the sister #7 car being forced to start from the pitlane. 

By the time the #7 Toyota had recovered to second place in the third hour, the #8 car was the best part of a minute ahead, despite Nakajima having to make an extra pitstop for his seatbelts not being fastened correctly and then spinning at La Source shortly afterwards.

The two Toyotas circulated around a minute apart until a late safety car period was caused by a big crash for Matevos Isaakyan in the #17 SMP Racing BR1-AER at the top of Eau Rouge.

That bunched up the pack, not long after Alonso had taken over from Nakajima for the final double stint, and Mike Conway took the restart hot on the Spaniard’s heels, escaping a penalty for overtaking under the safety car.

However, despite closing to within a second of the two-time Formula 1 champion at one stage, Conway never attempted a pass, and crossed the line 1.4 seconds behind Alonso, who claimed his first race victory since the 2013 Spanish Grand Prix.

2018 WEC 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps Race Results
1.8spain  Fernando Alonso 
japan  Kazuki Nakajima 
switzerland  Sébastien Buemi 
Toyota TS050 HybridLMP11636:00’50.702 
2.7japan  Kamui Kobayashi 
united_kingdom  Mike Conway 
argentina  Jose Maria Lopez 
Toyota TS050 HybridLMP11636:00’52.1461.444
3.1germany  Andre Lotterer 
brazil  Bruno Senna 
switzerland  Neel Jani 
Rebellion R13LMP11616:01’21.5692 laps 
4.3switzerland  Mathias Beche 
france  Thomas Laurent 
united_states  Gustavo Menezes 
Rebellion R13LMP11616:02’02.8192 laps 
5.4united_kingdom  Oliver Webb 
austria  Dominik Kraihamer 
france  Tom Dillmann 
ENSO CLM P1/01LMP11586:00’57.8505 laps 
6.11russia  Vitaly Petrov 
russia  Mikhail Aleshin 
BR Engineering BR1LMP11586:02’51.9785 laps 
7.26france  Jean-Eric Vergne 
russia  Roman Rusinov 
france  Andrea Pizzitola 
Oreca 07LMP21566:01’05.9727 laps 
8.38china  Ho-Pin Tung 
monaco  Stéphane Richelmi 
france  Gabriel Aubry 
Oreca 07LMP21566:01’27.6867 laps 
9.36france  Nicolas Lapierre 
france  Pierre Thiriet 
brazil  Andre Negrao 
Alpine A470LMP21566:02’01.7097 laps 
10.37malaysia  Nabil Jeffri 
malaysia  Weiron Tan 
malaysia  Jazeman Jaafar 
Oreca 07LMP21556:01’09.9278 laps