Daytona 24: Alonso Qualifies 13th for the 24 Hour Race

Fernando Alonso takes P13 for his sports car debut Two-time Formula 1 champion Alonso was handed qualifying duties by United Autosports in the #23 Ligier JS P217, but was unable to make up for the performance deficit of the LMP2 car compared to the DPi runners as the Spaniard finished 13th overall. Alonso improved his lap times throughout the session, ultimately finishing with a best effort of 1:37.008, but never bothered the leaders as he finished nine-tenths of a second back from van der Zande’s pole time. Fernando was 1.178s faster than the closest Ligier of Bruno Senna.
P. # Drivers Team & Car Laps Fastest Lap
1. 10 Ryan Hunter-Reay Jordan Taylor Renger van Der Zande Konica Minolta Cadillac DPi-V.R Cadillac DPi 9 01:36.083
2. 7 Helio Castroneves Ricky Taylor Graham Rahal Acura Team Penske Acura DPi 8 01:36.090
3. 5 Christian Fittipaldi Joao Barbosa Felipe Albuquerque Mustang Sampling Racing Cadillac DPi 9 01:36.194
4. 38 Pato O’Ward James French Kyle Masson Joel Miller Performance Tech Motorsports ORECA LMP2 9 01:36.318
5. 90 Matt McMurry Edward Cheever Tristan Vautier Spirit of Daytona Racing Cadillac DPi 8 01:36.472
6. 37 Lance Stroll Daniel Juncadella Felix Rosenqvist Robin Frijns Jackie Chan DCR JOTA ORECA LMP2 9 01:36.492
7. 31 Eric Curran Stuart Middleton Mike Conway Felipe Nasr Whelen Engineering Racing Cadillac DPi 7 01:36.508
8. 54 Jonathan Bennett Romain Dumas Colin Braun Loic Duval CORE autosport ORECA LMP2 10 01:36.567
9. 55 Spencer Pigot Harry Tincknell Jonathan Bomarito Mazda Team Joest Mazda DPi 9 01:36.633
10. 6 Dane Cameron Juan Pablo Montoya Simon Pagenaud Acura Team Penske Acura DPi 9 01:36.931
11. 78 Alex Brundle Antonio Felix da Costa Ho-Pin Tung Ferdinand Habsburg-Lothringen Jackie Chan DCR JOTA ORECA LMP2 9 01:36.982
12. 85 Simon Trummer Robert Alon Austin Cindric Devlin DeFrancesco JDC-Miller Motorsports ORECA LMP2 9 01:37.005
13. 23 Fernando Alonso Phil Hanson Lando Norris United Autosports Ligier LMP2 9 01:37.008
14. 99 Stephen Simpson Chris Miller Gustavo Menezes Misha Goikhberg JDC-Miller Motorsports ORECA LMP2 9 01:37.124
15. 32 Will Owen Paul Di Resta Bruno Senna Hugo de Sadeleer United Autosports Ligier LMP2 9 01:38.186