2018 Monaco GP: Fernando Alonso Retires in “the Most Boring F1 Race Ever”

Fernando Alonso leading Max Verstappen

Fernando Alonso, who missed the 2017 Monaco Grand Prix to participate in the Indianapolis 500, had to retire in the 2018 Monaco race, after technical problems hit his McLaren. The Spaniard was on course for a 7th place finish.

Alonso, who qualified a season best 7th place had a clean start, keeping his starting position until the first round of pitstops on lap 19.

After the first stops conluded, Fernando found himself ahead of Max Verstappen, who was yet to stop as he drove a different strategy, starting from last place.

Once Verstappen stopped on lap 48, Alonso was stuck in 8th place behind Ocon, who was stuck behind the Renault of Nico Hülkenberg – the only driver in the top ten yet to stop.

Fernando Alonso started to lose engine power, meaning Gasly behind him started to close the gap, but it didn’t matter as Alonso’s problem became terminal on lap 53, where he eventually had to retire the car.

Fernando Alonso, Post-Race:

“Extremely boring. I mean, this is probably the most boring race ever. Without a safety car, without yellow flags, I think the sport needs to think a little bit about the show because this is very disappointing.”

“Probably the most boring race ever in Formula 1. So I think we probably need to give something to the fans at the end of the race just to pay the ticket back a little.”

“I’m obviously disappointed because this was our first retirement of the season today. First, I felt a loss of power and then I was somehow stuck in fifth gear. It’s painful because we had seventh place in the bag.”

“We were the fourth fastest car around here this weekend, and seventh in the race is what we would have deserved.”

“There’s nothing we can do about it now, but we obviously need to improve our reliability for the forthcoming races.”

2018 Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix Race Results
1.australia Daniel RicciardoRed BullTAG 
2.germany Sebastian VettelFerrariFerrari7.336
3.united_kingdom Lewis HamiltonMercedesMercedes17.013
4.finland Kimi RaikkonenFerrariFerrari18.127
5.finland Valtteri BottasMercedesMercedes18.822
6.france Esteban OconForce IndiaMercedes23.667
7.france Pierre GaslyToro RossoHonda24.331
8.germany Nico HülkenbergRenaultRenault24.839
9.netherlands Max Verstappen Red BullTAG25.317
10.spain Carlos SainzRenaultRenault1’09.013